Mandatory Training

  • Home
  • Mandatory Training
Under Review — this page was due to be reviewed by 03/11/2021. The information shown here may be outdated.

Adult Safeguarding

Level 1: all staff in healthcare settings (includes practice receptionists and non-clinical staff​) – Two hours of training completed over a three year period.

Level 2: all non-clinical and clinical staff who have regular contact with patients, their families or the public (includes registered nurses and GP Practice Managers) – Three to four hours of training completed over a three year period.

Level 3: all healthcare staff involved in assessing, planning, intervening and evaluating the needs of adults where there are safeguarding concerns (includes GPs and Registered Nurses) – Eight hours of training completed over a three year period.

Level 1, 2 and 3 can be accessed via:


Level 1: All practice staff should complete basic prevent awareness training and level 1 adult-safeguarding e-learning.

Level 1 can be accessed a number of ways, including:

Level 3: All GPs are required to demonstrate level 3 understanding of identifying, responding and working within a multi-agency context in relation to Prevent concerns.

Level 3 can be accessed via:

For more information visit the NHS England website. For clinical queries and referrals, see also the Adult Safeguarding page.

Child Safeguarding

Level 1: Non-clinical staff e.g. administration staff

Level 2: Non-clinical staff who come into contact with children and young people, however small

Level 3: All clinical staff who work with children, young people, parents/carers

Please see attached document for more information.